CERN in Geneva

CERN in Geneva

Founded in 1953, the European Particle Physics Laboratory promotes the cooperation of European states for exclusively peaceful purposes in the field of nuclear and particle physics. 

With its particle accelerators, the laboratory fosters research in the field of high-energy physics.

The discovery of the Higgs boson at CERN was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2013.

The 23 member countries of CERN are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Israel, Italy, Norway, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, United Kingdom, Czech Republic, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Hungary.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top