Noravank is one of the most beautiful monasteries in Armenia and is located in the picturesque gorge of the Amaghu River, known for its height and brick-red sheer walls, almost 120 km from Yerevan.
This monastery, near to the city of Yeghegnadzor, was built between 1300 and 1400.
The Noravank complex was also the first residence of the local bishops and later of the Orbelian princes, whose burials are now housed in the two churches.
From the thirteenth to the fourteenth century, it was one of the major religious and cultural centers of Armenia. The complex has two churches: St. Astvatsatsin, the largest, and St. Karapet.
The church of St. Astvatsatsin was built on two floors in 1339 by the famous Armenian architect Momik.
On the first level of the church are the tombs of Prince Burtel and his family.
The tympanum above the door is decorated with an unusual image of God the Father with large almond-shaped eyes.
The monastery of St. Karapet was built in 1227 on the ruins of the previous church collapsed due to a strong earthquake.
The entire monastic complex in 1997 underwent a complete restoration.